Every state has a unique approach to punishment following a conviction for driving under the influence. Some states have set harsh punishments for even a first conviction while others such as Mississippi have a program for first-time offenders that actually allows for a temporary drivers license under certain circumstances. Jail time for a first offense can also be limited to 48 hours. However, those who are cited more than once can expect harsher results. Additionally, alcohol use while driving is not the only substance that can result in a DUI charge. Investigating officers who determine that a suspect could be impaired can hold a driver for blood testing when a judge will issue a warrant. Here is what a convicted impaired driver can expect from the court after a conviction.
Mississippi uses a minimal incarceration policy for convicted DUI defendants compared to many other states. The maximum jail term for a first conviction is 48 hours detention. Those convicted for a second impaired driving charge can receive from five days up to six months. Multiple repeat offenders can be jailed significantly longer within a 1 to 5 year range depending on material case evidence. Aggravated charges can result in 5 to 25 years incarceration in the event of an accident producing serious injuries or death.
All convicted impaired driving defendants are also assigned some level of fine based on case evidence. Amounts can range from $250 to $1000 for a first conviction with $600-$1500 for a second conviction and $2000-$5000 for a third.
License suspension is also part of the punishment schedule, but Mississippi actually does allow for a temporary license issuance upon conviction for a first offense. Defendants must install an electronic ignition interlock in their vehicle in exchange for the issuance of a 30-day temporary driving permit. Any subsequent extensions must be requested upon completion of the initial temporary period.