Mississippi takes convictions for driving under the influence (DUI) very seriously. While all state residents may face life-changing consequences for the conviction, nurses found guilty of the offense may lose their ability to work in the health field.
Anyone driving a passenger vehicle may face a DUI charge in the state of Mississippi if they have a blood alcohol level of at least .08. The criminal consequences depend upon the number of previous convictions you obtained and whether any major injuries occurred as a result of your DUI.
Common criminal consequences following your first DUI include:
- Fines up to $1,000
- 48 hours in jail
- Driver’s license suspension of up to 90 days
For repeat offenders, criminal convictions may result in the following:
- Fines of $600 to $10,000
- Up to 10 years in prison
- Suspended license for up to five years
- Alcohol dependency treatment
- Ignition interlock device for up to three years
First-time DUI career consequences
If you hold a nursing license and receive a DUI for the first time in Mississippi, your career may not face severe consequences. If your criminal defense depicts a remorseful individual, the state board of nursing will likely allow you to continue your career.
Multiple DUI offenses for nurses
The state board of nursing will not provide the same leniency with multiple DUI convictions. Consequences for any DUI charge beyond your first may involve:
- Formal evaluation
- Restrictions on your nursing license
- Loss of your license
Former convictions and future nursing career
If you have a DUI conviction and want to become a nurse, you must prove to the state board that you no longer have an alcohol problem. Typically, the board of nursing may require evidence that you completed a treatment program and have remained sober.
A DUI conviction may prevent you from obtaining the nursing career you’ve always dreamed of having. Mounting a good defense against your charges may save you from criminal consequences and save your professional career.