Photo of Exterior of the Office Building of T. Michael Reed, P.A

We Are Here To Protect
Your Future

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  » How serious are drug possession charges in Mississippi?

How serious are drug possession charges in Mississippi?

On Behalf of | Oct 13, 2021 | Criminal Defense

Mississippi is a state that has very strict drug laws. Drug possession, in particular, carries stiff penalties for a conviction. If you’re facing these charges, you should know what it means regarding the laws and what you can expect.

What are the drug possession charges in Mississippi?

There are two different charges you can face if you are arrested on drug possession charges. Both of these are taken very seriously and have grave consequences for a conviction:

  • Personal amount: This relates to the amount of the drug in question that you have in your possession. A personal amount is often very small, but the charges you can face depend on the type of drug.
  • Sale of controlled substances: This relates to possessing drugs with the intention of selling through distribution or trafficking. Penalties are harsher if you are convicted of this charge compared with simply having a personal amount of a drug.

What are the penalties for drug possession in Mississippi?

Your criminal defense strategy may depend on whether you face a misdemeanor or a felony charge for drug possession. While a misdemeanor is the lesser charge, it can still adversely affect your life and give you a criminal record if you’re convicted. You can face anywhere from six months to one year in jail and a maximum fine of $1,000 for a conviction. You can face these charges if you possess under 30 grams of marijuana or if you only possess drug paraphernalia.

A felony is much more serious and carries heftier penalties for a conviction. The specific drug you’re found to be in possession of will determine your sentence for a conviction. However, the average penalties for a felony drug possession conviction include one to four years in prison and a maximum fine of $10,000.

There are other things you can expect if you’re convicted of the crime. You may not qualify for public housing or scholarships and financial aid. You may not be eligible to obtain certification or a state license, and you can even face difficulty getting some types of jobs. For this reason, avoiding a conviction is in your best interest.

Drug possession charges are serious in Mississippi. You need to protect your rights and take those charges seriously.